More New Resident Information
- For more new resident information see our Welcome Letter and a newsletter explaining events in the city.
- Sign up for our newsbytes-electronic notification of events and reminders: click here
- Sign up to have your water/sewer bill emailed to you: click here
- Sign up to have water/sewer and/or tax bill automatically debited: click here
City Hall, located at 1820 Inverness, is open Monday through Thursday, 8:00 am until 4:30 pm. Phone 248-682-1440. There is a drop box to the left of the front door, all payments and communications may be dropped here anytime. Please note due dates are the due date even if it falls on a weekend or holiday. The front vestibule contains many helpful publications and postings. The Police Department is also open 24 hours a day. The Police non-emergency number is 248-682-2104. Call this number and dispatch will contact the officer to meet you at City Hall.
Property Transfer Affidavit
- Property Transfer Affidavits must be file within 45 days. Transfer Affidavit
- If it is not filed timely, a penalty of $5/day (maximum $200) applies.
Click What Happens to Your Property Taxes When you Purchase a New Home? for a detailed explanation.
Overnight Parking Prohibited
Overnight parking on the City streets or in any City park is prohibited between the hours of 2:00 am - 6:00 am.
Trash day is Thursday. Trash, recycling and yard waste may be placed at the curb at 5:00 p.m. Wednesday night and must be brought in by 7:00 p.m. Thursday night. Recycling bins are available at City Hall. Click here City Services for more information.
Dangerous Animals, Pit Bull Terriors and Exotic Animals
Pit bull terriers are limited to only those existing (prior to the ordinance October 1, 2010) licensed dogs in order that the threat of this breed eventually be removed from the City. Copies of the ordinance are available at City Hall or PitBulls and Dangerous Dog and animals ordinance
Each household is allowed not more than two dogs. The State of Michigan requires ALL dogs over 4 months to be current with rabies vaccine and to have a Michigan dog license, failure to comply may result in a misdemeanor ticket. You may purchase a one or three year dog license.
A license must be purchased within 30 days of:
- Purchasing or acquiring a new dog
- A puppy turning 4 months of age
- Becoming a Michigan resident
- The expiration date of the prior license