Font Size

Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is an advisory group to Council and is composed of six members appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of the City Council. The planning commission members serve for terms of three years each, along with a representative of City Council working with the Planning and Zoning Administrator .  Planning Commission will meet a minimum of 4 times per year; the 2nd Wednesday of the month, at 5:00 p.m. at the Community Center.  Dates are subject to change due to agenda topics.  Please watch the calendar for scheduled meetings.  

Planning Commission develops a master plan as a guide for development within the city's planning jurisdiction.

They act as the initial reviewing body on all re-zoning requests and guide residential and commercial developments so that continuity and compatibility of land use will benefit the City. The Planning Commission also advises City Council on possible zoning ordinance changes.

FAQ on housing in Sylvan Lake

  Board Members Term Expires
Chairman Ed Robbins November 30, 2024
Vice-Chair Jim Smith November 30, 2026
Members Bud Krause
Shannon Dickstein
November 30, 2025
November 30, 2026
  Pete Shelters November 30, 2024
  Mark Raukar November 30, 2026
Council Rep Jim Cowper November 2024
Recording Secretary Dennise Dryden  
Email Planning Commission